Text Size

Inner East Belfast Partnership

Inner East Neighbourhood Renewal Area includes  – Short Strand, Lower Newtownards Road, Albertbridge Road, Albertbridge/Beersbridge, The Mount, Woodstock Road and Lower Ravenhill Road.

These areas are contained within the four inner East wards of Island, The Mount, Ballymacarrett and Woodstock which consistently display high levels of need, both in an East Belfast context and when compared to all 566 wards in Northern Ireland.


The Neighbourhood Partnership agreed the following Vision Statement in 2005

“Inner East Belfast will be transformed into a safer, attractive, healthier community
in which people choose to live, learn, work and invest”.

and produced their initial Action Plan in Nov 2006. The most recent review took place in 2009.

The Neighbourhood Renewal Programme continues to support a wide range of groups delivering key services in Inner East. This includes services for early years and youth, adult education and training, and support for elderly people.

Neighbourhood Renewal funds are also helping transform the area with support for


The Skainos Project is an urban regeneration project in inner East Belfast
providing shared space for community transformation and renewal.

Members of East Belfast Neighbourhood Partnership

Michael Briggs Chair EBCDA

Maggie Andrews  EBP
Julie Carson  BRO
Yvonne Cowan BHSCT
Sammy Douglas  EBP
Sir Reg Empey  MLA UUP
Mervyn Gibson  Baymac Centre
Maire Hendron   Cllr. Alliance Party
Glenn Jordan   Skainos
Cliff Kennedy  Oasis
John Kyle    Cllr PUP
Bernie McConnell  Short Strand Community Forum
John Nelson   Belfast City Council
Robin Newton   MLA DUP
Colin Robinson Bridge Community Association
Geraldine Lennon BRO
Richard Williamson  NIHE
Heather McMurray – Newtownards Road Womens Group

Follow Us

Login Form